So I've been listening to this "life changing"debate on television as I am currently unemployed/ recently graduated from school. And it occurs to me that I have no party.
While I am black and the daughter of two African immigrants, I did not grow up in the ghetto. I did not lose my father to crack and I've never had a decent weave. I am one of the growing black/brown kids who grew up in the suburbs. When I was sixteen I got a car, it wasn't new, but it was mine. When I was 18 I went to a state college, and my parents paid for it.
Oh- and I am one seriously undecided voter.
I have NO idea who I want to vote for this coming election because I have no party. Like the republicans I'd like to be a business owner some day and I don't look kindly on the majority of my startup money going to wellfare. But seriously, the last time I checked I have even less in common with a hockey mom from alaska who grew up in a small town.
I can't wait for the day when I have representation in the white house, when the debate on race includes I don't know, different races, not just black and white. When the politicians start to realise that the way to solve problems will neither be a solely democratic not republican approach. But till then I was hoping on generating enough discussion to help me vote for a candidate based on more than style cuz michelle oboma would totally get my vote if she would rock a little "alicia keys braid plus weave" but then again I've never seen Sarah palin's hair blow in the wind. Seriously, I need help.
Thursday, September 4, 2008
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)