Thursday, September 4, 2008

Undecided voter

So I've been listening to this "life changing"debate on television as I am currently unemployed/ recently graduated from school. And it occurs to me that I have no party.
While I am black and the daughter of two African immigrants, I did not grow up in the ghetto. I did not lose my father to crack and I've never had a decent weave. I am one of the growing black/brown kids who grew up in the suburbs. When I was sixteen I got a car, it wasn't new, but it was mine. When I was 18 I went to a state college, and my parents paid for it.
Oh- and I am one seriously undecided voter.
I have NO idea who I want to vote for this coming election because I have no party. Like the republicans I'd like to be a business owner some day and I don't look kindly on the majority of my startup money going to wellfare. But seriously, the last time I checked I have even less in common with a hockey mom from alaska who grew up in a small town.
I can't wait for the day when I have representation in the white house, when the debate on race includes I don't know, different races, not just black and white. When the politicians start to realise that the way to solve problems will neither be a solely democratic not republican approach. But till then I was hoping on generating enough discussion to help me vote for a candidate based on more than style cuz michelle oboma would totally get my vote if she would rock a little "alicia keys braid plus weave" but then again I've never seen Sarah palin's hair blow in the wind. Seriously, I need help.

3 comments:

Dan Guerrero said...

They call your position "moderate" and they make up the majority of the voting population. You get the often unpleasant task of weighing the pros and cons of each candidate and determining who has the characteristics you value more and can live with the cons.

Mrs.Guerrero said...

your comment sucks, and where is the humour. That's right I'm so disgusted I used the english spelling.

Dan Guerrero said...

You need a new post...

check this out, according to CNN (http://www.cnn.com/ELECTION/2008/issues/issues.taxes.html)Obama...

Proposes to create an "American opportunity tax credit," which the Obama campaign describes as "a fully refundable credit" that "will ensure that the first $4,000 of a college education is completely free for most Americans and would cover two-thirds the cost of tuition at the average public college or university."

I went to college 4 years ago at a public university and $4000 would have covered about 1/3 to 1/4 of tuition, not 2/3. Where are all these schools that cost $6000 per year for tuition. We all need to start sending our kids there!!